Saturday, February 17, 2007

J-school Dean Search Heats Up

By Jonathan Kaminsky
Sat, Feb 17, 2007 at 3:27 PM

With Dean Orville Schell stepping down, the UC Berkeley J-School is looking for a new leader. Yesterday, the search committee announced the first of the candidates. Find out who they are after the jump.

    Dear Journalism School Community,

    On behalf of the Dean Search Committee I want to thank you for your continued support and patience as we seek to identify the best candidates for this important position. We have scheduled four candidate visits to campus and we remain in conversation with several other applicants. We plan to complete the campus visit and information gathering process prior to Spring Break (March 26-30) at which time we will submit our recommendations to the Chancellor's Office.

    Please find below the times of the public presentations by each of the candidates we have invited to campus. Meetings with faculty, staff, students, and others will be scheduled separately by the School. Please make sure to arrange to participate in these meetings since we value feedback from the community on theses candidates.

    Arthur Brisbane February 26-27 Journalist and former Knight-Ridder executive Public Presentation Monday, February 26 5:00 - 6:00 pm North Gate Library

    Neil Henry February 26-28 Journalist, author and Associate Professor of Journalism, UC Berkeley Public Presentation Wednesday, February 28 5:00 - 6:00 pm North Gate Library

    David Talbot February 28 - March 1 Journalist, author and co-founder of Public Presentation Thursday, March 1 5:00 - 6:00 pm North Gate Library

    Dianne Lynch March 5 - 6 Dean, School of Communications, Ithaca College Public Presentation Monday, May 5 5:00 - 6:00 pm North Gate Library

    We invite your thoughts on these candidates following their visits. Please use our confidential e-mail address for all such communications. Many thanks in advance.

    Best regards,

    AnnaLee Saxenian

    Chair, Graduate School of Journalism Dean Search Committee and Dean, School of Information

Author Archives

Most Popular Stories

Best of the East Bay


© 2021 Telegraph Media    All Rights Reserved
Powered by Foundation