Books

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Local Authors Join eBay Fundraiser to Aid Ailing Mills College Alum

by Anneli Rufus
Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 2:56 PM

Two editors met and became friends while striving to earn MFAs at Mills College; today, one of those editors has cancer and the other is launching a fundraiser to defray medical costs.

More …

Tags: , , , ,

Friday, September 3, 2010

Local Literary Horizon Filled with Fellatio, Famine, and Subprime Loans

by Anneli Rufus
Fri, Sep 3, 2010 at 12:55 PM

East Bay authors and East Bay publishers are pumping out new books about economic apocalypse, oral sex, and baby animals.

More …

Tags: , , , , , ,

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

UC Press Director to Retire

by Anneli Rufus
Wed, Sep 1, 2010 at 5:11 PM

University of California Press' longtime editor Lynne Withey has just announced her plans to retire at the end of this year.

More …

Tags: ,

Monday, July 19, 2010

Amazon Sells More Kindles Than Hardcovers

by Anneli Rufus
Mon, Jul 19, 2010 at 2:59 PM

Kindle sales are now outpacing hardcover book sales, according to Amazon.com head honcho Jeff Bezos.

More …

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 8, 2010

Dolls, Erotica, Hummingbirds, Rancidity: New East Bay Books

by Anneli Rufus
Thu, Jul 8, 2010 at 3:15 PM

New books from East Bay authors and publishers offer erotic scenes, plastic dolls, hummingbirds, and rancidity, although not all at the same time.

More …

Tags: , ,

Friday, June 18, 2010

UC Berkeley Grad Michael Savage Rips Obama in New Book

by Anneli Rufus
Fri, Jun 18, 2010 at 8:42 AM

Conservative radio host Michael Savage, who holds a Ph.D in epidemiology and nutritional science from UC Berkeley and whose show airs weekday afternoons on San Francisco's XTRA Sports 860, has scored a publishing deal with HarperCollins for a book that promises to — well, savage the current administration.

More …

Tags: , ,

Friday, June 11, 2010

New East Bay Books About Meditation, Freezing to Death, and More

by Anneli Rufus
Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 7:31 AM

Buddha's ears, egrets, and a lethal waterfall: Here's a roundup of some new books with local angles.

More …

Friday, June 4, 2010

Heyday Rebrands Itself

by Anneli Rufus
Fri, Jun 4, 2010 at 8:39 AM

Berkeley-based Heyday Books has undergone a transformation, which company insiders announced yesterday. It's the result of a kind of midlife crisis for the 36-year-old publishing company, which — despite the crashed economy — has been "steadily growing," said publicity director Susan Pi.

More …

Tags: ,

Monday, May 31, 2010

Leslie Scalapino Dies

by Anneli Rufus
Mon, May 31, 2010 at 10:34 AM

One of the East Bay's most famous contemporary poets died last Friday.

More …

Tags: ,

Thursday, May 27, 2010

The East Bay Loses Another Bookstore

by Anneli Rufus
Thu, May 27, 2010 at 4:42 PM

Sadly, the East Bay is about to lose another bookstore.

More …

Tags: ,

Most Popular Stories

© 2016 East Bay Express    All Rights Reserved
Powered by Foundation