Books

Monday, April 18, 2011

Ex-Berkeleyite Greg Mortenson Accused of Faking Three Cups of Tea

by Anneli Rufus
Mon, Apr 18, 2011 at 4:31 PM

Bestselling author Jon Krakauer is ticked off at fellow bestselling author Greg Mortenson — and he's dishing bigtime in a gory-details digital report being released today.

More …

Tags: , , , ,

Sunday, March 6, 2011

East Bay Zombie Book Up for Bloody Big Award

by Anneli Rufus
Sun, Mar 6, 2011 at 9:39 AM

Oakland author Linda Watanabe McFerrin is overjoyed that her novel about a smokin'-hot would-be zombie, Dead Love, has just been named as a nominee for a Bram Stoker Award.

More …

Tags: , , , ,

Monday, January 10, 2011

Michael Chabon on the East Bay and His New Book

by Ellen Cushing
Mon, Jan 10, 2011 at 12:36 PM


Hometown literary hero Michael Chabon’s hotly anticipated new book, Telegraph Avenue, is — fingers crossed — set to come out this year, and he’s got a lovely little piece up today on the Atlantic web site right now about the book and the East Bay, which apparently serves as the novel’s inspiration. Definitely worth a read.

Tags: ,

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

2010 Local Book Roundup: Pot Brownies, Homicide, and Bondage

by Anneli Rufus
Tue, Dec 28, 2010 at 12:43 PM

As we near the end of this year in which America went broke, got high, and watched J.D. Salinger (and Gary Coleman) die, let's celebrate the East Bay's literary contributions to 2010.

More …

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, December 3, 2010

Ex-Oaklander Publishes Books on Awkwardness, Bees, and Gender Variance

by Anneli Rufus
Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 12:39 PM

A book by an Oakland author (writing as a parent and a psychologist) about kids whose biological gender doesn't represent who they feel they really are, and another book by another Oakland author about how to choose foods that aren't tainted with infectious bacteria, deadly molds, or body-altering hormones:

More …

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Berkeley Native Publishes Pulp Fiction in India

by Anneli Rufus
Sat, Nov 27, 2010 at 10:35 AM

A Tamil pulp-fiction anthology from a small independent publishing house in India ranked among my best books of the year, as revealed in this week's Express Holiday Guide.

More …

Tags: , , ,

Monday, November 8, 2010

Ex-Oaklander Founds LGBT Publishing House

by Anneli Rufus
Mon, Nov 8, 2010 at 2:24 PM

Don Weise, formerly of Oakland and currently of New York City, has just launched Magnus Books.

More …

Tags: , , , ,

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Emeryville Gets Its First Poet Laureate

by Anneli Rufus
Sun, Oct 3, 2010 at 12:11 PM

Emeryville now has its first poet laureate.

More …

Tags: , ,

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

Oakland Writer Wins "Genius" Grant

by Anneli Rufus
Tue, Sep 28, 2010 at 8:20 AM

Oakland author Yiyun Li has just been named a recipient of the 2010 MacArthur "Genius" Grant.

More …

Tags: ,

Thursday, September 16, 2010

Local Vegan Wants to Set New Standards for Gelato

by Anneli Rufus
Thu, Sep 16, 2010 at 8:56 AM

Berkeley vegan chef Barry Schenker has a metaphorical bone to pick with commercial producers of vegan gelato.

More …

Tags: , ,

Most Popular Stories

© 2016 East Bay Express    All Rights Reserved
Powered by Foundation